Wsus not updating all clients

I've remoted to some of the clients and forced them to report to WSUS, but after a short while, it still says it hasn't reported.

I know I'm missing something simple since this has to be a somewhat common setup for other small and medium organizations.

wsus not updating all clients-23

Open Server Manager and remove Web Server (IIS) and Windows Server Update Services roles.

When asked for, leave the check boxes clear for the removal of WSUS database, log files and downloaded update files. During the installation of WSUS 3.0 SP2, the Server Manager on Windows Server 2008 [R2] actually looks for Windows Server Update Services 3.0 SP2 Dynamic Installer for Server Manager [x64 Edition] (KB972493), but the update server is normally configured to receive updates from itself, and there’s no itself—functioning at least—for the moment.

There are hundreds of results on Google with many pointing to Technet but I still can't get this issue resolved.

Servers are all 2008 R2 Enterprise and clients are all Windows 7 Pro/Ent x64.

I have had a working wsus server in place for some time.

However, now that I've installed SCCM 2012 in order to deploy antivirus protection, none of the clients are reporting to the WSUS server.

So, if you know for sure the exact update that does this, please comment.

On the surface at least, the server looks OK: It synchronizes with upstream Microsoft servers, displays newly-published updates, approves and declines as been told, and downloads approved updates flawlessly.

It occurred to me that perhaps the new SCCM is overriding the domain policy.

To fix that, I tried changing the domain policy to point the workstations to the sccm server hoping they would report to that server for updates. Even though the clients show up, the status for all of them reads "Not updated yet".

This shows that IIS and its pipings are broken and client computers cannot communicate with the server.

695 Comments

  1. Firmware upgrades are available from most manufacturers' websites. Highlight "name of Mp3 player here 1GB" (wording may vary slightly), and then select "Format." - this should erase everything.

  2. If the file has been modified from its original state, some details such as the timestamp may not fully reflect those of the original file.

Comments are closed.